The Westminster Confession of Faith

The Westminster Confession of Faith (written in 1647) is one of the foundational documents for understanding the Scripture as understood by many of the Protestant Reformers linked to John Calvin. The WCF teaches the sovereignty of God in salvation from beginning to ending, as Paul expressed in Philippians: “He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” The WCF teaches the Biblical principle that before we chose to trust in Jesus Christ, he chose us (John 15:16 ) and before we loved him, he loved us (1 John 4:10 ,19). The confession also teaches the Biblical idea of covenant . Because his agreement, or covenant with Adam and Eve was broken through their sin, God made an agreement with his son Jesus Christ to give his life for sinful people. This Covenant of Grace was revealed throughout the Bible to people like Noah, Abraham, Moses and David. It is ultimately fulfilled in Christ’s death and resurrection.

Reformed teaching balances the parallel biblical truths that 1) man is responsible to believe in Christ and 2) God is sovereign and gives man the ability to believe in the first place. Our salvation was not just our decision at a point in our lives: God chose us (Ephesians 1:3-6) before the world was created out of grace rather than our own goodness.

Download entire Westminster Confession as Adobe PDF

Table of Contents

  1. Chapter I – Of the Holy Scripture
  2. Chapter II –  Of  God, and of the Holy Trinity
  3. Chapter III Of God’s Eternal Decree
  4. Chapter IV Of Creation
  5. Chapter V Of Providence
  6. Chapter VI Of the Fall of Man, of Sin, and the Punishment thereof
  7. Chapter VII Of God’s Covenant with Man
  8. Chapter VIII Of Christ the Mediator
  9. Chapter IX Of Free Will
  10. Chapter X Of Effectual Calling
  11. Chapter XI Of Justification
  12. Chapter XII Of Adoption
  13. Chapter XIII Of Sanctification
  14. Chapter XIV Of Saving Faith
  15. Chapter XV Of Repentance unto Life
  16. Chapter XVI Of Good Works
  17. Chapter XVII Of the Perseverance Of the Saints
  18. Chapter XVIII Of Assurance Of Grace and Salvation
  19. Chapter XIX Of the Law Of God
  20. Chapter XX Of Christian Liberty, and Liberty Of Conscience
  21. Chapter XXI Of Religious Worship, and the Sabbath Dayå
  22. Chapter XXII Of Lawful Oaths and Vows
  23. Chapter XXIII Of the Civil Magistrate
  24. Chapter XXIV Of Marriage and Divorce
  25. Chapter XXV Of the Church
  26. Chapter XXVI Of the Communion Of Saints
  27. Chapter XXVII Of the Sacraments
  28. Chapter XXVIII Of Baptism
  29. Chapter XXIX Of the Lord’s Supper
  30. Chapter XXX Of Church Censures
  31. Chapter XXXI Of Synods and Councils
  32. Chapter XXXII Of the State Of Men after Death, and Of the Resurrection Of the Dead
  33. Chapter XXXIII Of the Last Judgment

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2009 - 2017 Christian Faith In America All Rights Reserved. Website by Aletheia Web Design